Proud to Announce …

My debut novel, The Woman who Breathed Two Worlds, has been selected by Amazon Publishing’s editors as one of their 6 hand-picked book choices for the Kindle First programme during this month of October. In case you’ve not heard of it, Kindle First is an invitation-only programme for authors. It allows the many book lovers who are also Amazon Prime subscribers to read books on their Kindles a month before their official release dates. This means that Prime subscribers can already download my novel and read it on their Kindles!

Here’s what Amazon’s editors have to say about their selections. If you prefer, you can watch the following video: there are previews of all 6 books. And if clicking on a link seems too much like hard work, below you’ll find the front and back covers of my novel. The overview on the back cover provides a good feel for the unfolding story and its key themes.

front-cover

 

back-cover

I will also be doing two readings in Malaysia this month (October 2016). The first will take place in Ipoh – the town which provides the setting for my novel – on Saturday 15 October. Full details will be posted on my Facebook Author Page, which has just gone live. If you happen to be in Malaysia then, I’d love to see you!

Meanwhile, there are fewer than 30 days to the official worldwide release of The Woman who Breathed Two Worlds. There’s still time to pre-order your book! Click on any of the links below:

USA Barnes & Noble

UK Waterstones

Australia Booktopia

Malaysia Kinokuniya

Singapore Kinokuniya

and, of course, on all Amazon websites

16 Comments

Filed under Cultural Identity, Malaysia, Novel, Publishing

16 responses to “Proud to Announce …

  1. Eddy Chin

    I’m proud to announce that I will be placing orders for your book and will be at Kinokuniya come 1st November, even if I have to trudge there!

  2. Congratulations! This is wonderful.

  3. Lee Su Kim

    Congrats Selina. I look forward very much to
    Reading your book. 😋 And to meeting you
    Soon.

  4. I have just finiahed your book and loved it. My son spends a lot of time in Malaysia, having lots of friends there and he took me there for my first visit last year. We spent time in KL and visited Ipoh (and a cave shrine) and are going again in December. The book felt so full of life and has given me so much more insight into the country and its history. I will view the country from a different perspective. Thank you so much.

    • Hello Cherry,

      Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write to me. I’m really glad that you enjoyed my novel! Please leave a review on Amazon and/or Goodreads – it would mean a lot. Enjoy your time in Malaysia!

  5. I bought your book because it was recommended to me as a ‘Kindle First’ selection. I am very interested in this part of the world, though my own writing is about Thailand, and I don’t know much about Malaysia. Your book is wonderful—it transports me to different times and places, and I am thinking about the story even when I am not reading it. I love the way you explain everything the reader needs to know, but these explanations develop so naturally, as part of the narrative, that they never impinge on the story. I will be buying the hard copy of the book as well, because—you’re right—it has such a beautiful cover.

    • Hello Caron,

      Thank you for sharing your reading experience! It’s a thrill to hear from readers like you how much you’ve enjoyed my novel. Your comments make the years of toil worthwhile. I’d be grateful if you could also leave a review on Amazon, if you haven’t already done so – that would mean so much. Thank you!

  6. Selina, I have just put down my Kindle and have never felt this way about a book, even though I am an avid reader and love so many different genres. All I can say is thank you. Your beautiful book evoked so many memories of my Singapore childhood. As a child of English parents, born and brought up in that part of the world, I understood and shared Chye Hong’s struggle in balancing the two worlds she inhabited. She was a wonderful heroine…..bright, strong and courageous. So eloquent is your description that I could smell the aromas wafting from her kitchen, taste the laksa on my tongue and feel both the oppressive tropical heat and the torrential rains. Again, thank you for a beautiful book.

    • Thank you so much for writing to me. I am so glad that I touched you through my writing. I don’t cry easily, but your comments really moved me. If you haven’t already done so, could I please ask you to share some of your reaction on the Amazon website? A review from you would mean a lot.

      • Just to let you know, Selina, that I not only reviewed your book on Amazon but recommended it on the Alumni Facebook Page of my old school, UWCSEA. I was born and grew up in Singapore, which is why your book resonates so much with me and will do so with all my fellow alumni.They are spread all over the world and have already started to place advance orders! I wish you all the very best with your book; you deserve it.

      • Hello there,

        Thank you so much for your doing all this and for your infectious enthusiasm! Your promotion of my book is much appreciated, and I truly hope that The Woman who Breathed Two Worlds will give your former college-mates as much pleasure as it gave you!

        Very best wishes,

        Selina

  7. slgsheila

    I wrote a long and very grateful review here but lost it when I couldn’t find my password. I’ll try again.

    This is the best book I’ve read in a long, long time. I am not a world travel, except through reading. I’m sure I will never physically visit Malaysia but I don’t need to waste the energy and pollute the earth. I have just been there and spent a life time with your wonderful grandmother. Who could ever dream of such an honor and opportunity?

    One of my dearest friends grew up in Taiwan and travels often to India where she supports and works for two orphanages. We’ve talked about me going with her but I’ve decided it’s best not to go because of health concerns and because I would not want to be so far from my son, daughter-in-law and granddaughters.

    Reading your book I feel like I have a new life-long friend and that I have been on a life-changing journey. I have great respect for your culture and your family. And you’ve inspired me to write more of my own pilgrimage. Kamsia, kamsia and much gratitude. I do hope you will write a sequel. I already wrote a review for Amazon.

    • Dear Sheila (I hope I’ve got your name right!),

      Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely message, which really moved me. It means a huge amount that some readers have actually experienced my novel as a journey, one which they treasure and will remember for a long time. Writing is a solitary activity and I, for one, love hearing from readers like you. Thank you also for putting a review on Amazon!

      With best wishes,

      Selina

What do You Think?

